

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Occupational Therapy Chinese Medicine

Osteopathy Pharmacy Podiatry Psychology

Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency

## Media release

31 July 2012

## National Board membership announced today

Australia's state and territory health ministers yesterday announced changes to the membership of the 10 National Boards originally appointed in 2009. On 31 August 2009, Ministers announced the appointment of 108 members to National Boards for three-year terms.

The appointments announced yesterday reflect Ministers' intention to balance stability with renewal in National Board membership.

The current appointments include 30 new appointments and 75 reappointments. Details of the announcements are published in the last communiqué of the Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council.

Mr Peter Allen, Chair of AHPRA's Agency Management Committee, said he had been deeply appreciative of the level of commitment shown by all inaugural Board members to bringing the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme to life.

"In particular, I thank Glenn Ruscoe, the Chair of the Physiotherapy Board of Australia and Jason Warnock, the Chair of the Podiatry Board of Australia, for their leadership and dedication over the past three years," Mr Allen said.

"They have been tireless in working with their boards and AHPRA to build the foundations of national regulation for their professions, in the public interest," Mr Allen said.

He said AHPRA and the Agency Management Committee valued highly the contribution of all the outgoing Board members.

"Our collective ability to meet the challenges involved in introducing the National Scheme relied on the goodwill, hard work and insight of every member of every National Board," Mr Allen said.

"Their important work will form the basis of all future policy and regulatory decisions for regulated health professions in Australia. They have left a lasting legacy for the Australian community", he said.

Mr Martin Fletcher, AHPRA Chief Executive Officer, echoed Mr Allen's thanks to outgoing Board members. He welcomed the newly appointed National Board members, including Mr Paul Shinkfield as Chair of the Physiotherapy Board of Australia and Mrs Catherine Loughry, as Chair of the Podiatry Board of Australia, from 30 August 2012.

"I would like to congratulate the newly appointed Board Chairs and Members and welcome them to the National Scheme," Mr Fletcher said.

"We look forward to working with them and their National Boards to bring out the best of the National Scheme, to,keep the public safe and facilitate access to quality healthcare", said Mr Fletcher.

## For more information

- The AHWMC communiqué is published on the AHPRA website, www.ahpra.gov.au, under Legislation & Publications,
- Lodge an online enquiry form under *Contact us* at <a href="www.ahpra.gov.au">www.ahpra.gov.au</a>
- For media enquiries: (03) 8708 9200